Trust Me, You’re Doing Just Fine

I am alive! I am tired, but I am alive!

Here’s something that no one tells you: You can work 12 or 13 hour days every day and still be no farther ahead than tomorrow’s lessons. Don’t get me wrong, I am loving internship and having fun with my school, co-op, and students! I just sometimes feel like I am struggling for air.

Yesterday I hit a wall and had a little pity party for myself on my drive home at 6pm. I’m not sure what lead to it. It was actually a pretty successful day! I didn’t bomb any lessons, I had a good visit with my faculty advisor, but for some reason I just felt more tired yesterday than any other day. Even my husband, who can often be less than observant when it comes to my mood, noticed I was a little down.

Now, instead of allowing myself to be stuck in that place, I dusted myself off and started today as a new day. Sure, it was still an 11 hour day at the school, but I believe that will change with time and experience.

So, if you’re another intern reading this, you’re not alone. We are all tired! Just remember why we are doing this! We are the lucky ones who get to impact lots of little lives every single day! Don’t forget that part, but don’t go crazy over making sure that every lesson ever taught is the most amazing thing ever done in the classroom. Give yourself a break! Or at least know that I am giving you one.

Jen

20160901_073251.jpg
Never forget this!

 

One thought on “Trust Me, You’re Doing Just Fine

Leave a comment