Making Math Engaging

I was tasked with doing a little inquiry of my own this semester.  The question posed to me was “what do you wish you knew more about?”  With three weeks of math on the horizon I really wanted to know how I was going to make math engaging.  Math was never my favorite subject.  When a student says they hate math and don’t understand it, I get it.  I was that person.  I could take great notes about math, but give me a word or number problem and I was lost.  I didn’t want my students to feel that way too (their success in my unit is a story for another time maybe).

math problem
Me doing math

I partnered up with a few other ladies who wanted to learn the same thing – shout out to Amanda M, Amanda K, and Alisha – and off we went researching.  Each of us came up with a list of resources that we thought would help us and others make math engaging.  We annotated our resources and created a Google Slide presentation so we could easily share with others.  Some of the resources are links to different math games or apps that can help with both student engagement and student learning and some of the resources are other individual’s blog posts that provided good tips and information to teachers.

If you have any ideas that you find make math engaging for your students, please share them with me!  I heard somewhere that a teacher can never have too many resources!

 

Leave a comment