I’ll Take a Job!

With the end of the semester looming and internship coming up a lot of us are thinking about our future in Education.  Do we cram as much as I can into the Spring/Summer semester so we can potentially get a job right after internship?  Some people are stressing out about if they should go so far as to convocate in December.  In my opinion, the answer to all the questions are yes.

Get your name out there and in the job market before at least 120 other people (in Elementary and Middle Years)? How could that be bad?  Unfortunately, for my fellow BEAD students and I the option of convocating early is not an option.  One requirement that we need, EPSY 217 is offered only in the Winter semester.  So regardless of how much I cram into the Spring/Summer semester I will be back here in the halls at the University of Regina in December.

this-is-how-i-feel-as-a-recent-college-graduate-with-a-degree-in-history-9507
Memes are my lifeblood at this point in the semester.

However, according to the Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board I can still be certified to teach as long as I have 48 Education credit hours, a practicum, two language or reading classes, and any two EPSY classes.  It is pretty annoying that the University won’t offer that one required EPSY class for us so I end up losing out on taking something that I really want to take (ECMP 355) to take a third EPSY class.  It feels so strongly like a money grab.  What is even more frustrating is the fact that I have an entire Honours Degree in Psychology! A whole 5 years! How can that entire degree not count for one single EPSY credit?

I digress.

The end of this story is that I will do exactly what the University and all of my instructors want and that I will do it my very best so I can move on to real life.  Because in the end, that’s why I am here isn’t it?

Jen

 

One thought on “I’ll Take a Job!

Leave a comment